The Poona Club Limited finished the first of its kind Poona club Golf league in style.

· Panchshil Aces became the first ever team to win the prestigious league.
· Sponsored by “Venky’s” & cosponsored by Syska.
· The teams were owned by renowned businessmen like Yohan Poonawalla, Vason Enginers Ltd, Westin Pune, Panchsil, Filtrum, Kalyani Group, Shirke and Syska.

Pune, January 2019: ‘The Poona Club Golf League 2019’ began on January 25th and was a 3 day affair that got over with much aplomb and fanfare. The 3 day league was attended by socialites, game enthusiasts and celebrities from the city. The league was played between eight teams at the magnificent Poona Club Golf Course which is the only 18 hole golf course in the city spread across about 100 acres of lush greenery. Andrew Pinto, Chairman of the league said, “We are proud that the first golfing league gained so much popularity and had raised awareness about this sport. Golf is gaining momentum in the country and we are happy that we provided a platform for budding players to hone their talent for the sport.

The league was played between eight teams with 12 members each. This platform also gave a big boost to women and junior players as it was mandatory for each team to have atleast one lady, one junior and one senior player in each team. The eight teams that competed against each other were Yohan Poonawalla Eagles, Roary’s Lions by The Westin Pune, Panchshil Aces, Filtrum Eye of the Tiger, The Holey Ones by Vascon, Amazing Albatrosses by the Kalyani Group, The Angry Birdies by Shirke and Swinging Sultans by Syska.

Some of the marquee players included Dr. Date for Poonawala, Rohan Dholepatil for Roary’s Lions, Pratik Nimale for Panchshil, Shishir Donde for Kalyani Amazing Albatrosses, Amit Bhattachrya for Vascon The Holey Ones, Jay Shirke for Shirke The Angry Birdies, Aaron Rocky for Syska Swinging Sultans, Col Dhar for Filtrum Eye of the Tiger amongst other talented players.
The organizing committee comprised of proficient members such as Swastik Sirsikar (Captain), Andrew Pinto (Chairman), Indraneel Mujgule (Committee Member), Aditya Deshmukh (Member) and Aditya Kanetkar (Tournament Director).

Winning Categories –
Closest to the pin on hole #4- Jaywant Thorat- Panchshil Aces
Closest to pin on hole #16- Jay Shirke- Audio Lounge Shirke Angry Birdies
Straightest drive on hole#3- Nitin Lunkad- Kalyani Amazing Albatrosses
Longest drive on hole #18- Pranav Mardikar -Yohan Poonawalla Eagles
Top 3 junior golfers- Ira Joshi – 11 points from Shirke -The angry Birdies & Rajvir, Urja-9 points each – Syska Swinging Sultan
Best lady golfer- Bhakti Thorat- Yohan Poonawalla Eagles
Best senior golfer- Col. Bhandarkar- Syska Swinging Sultan
Golfer of the tournament- Dinou Mahajan – Panchshil Aces

Winning order

1. Panchshil Aces
2. Yohan Poonawala Eagles
3. Syska Swinging Sultans
4. Shirke- The Angry Birdies
5. Filtrum- Eye of the tiger
6. The Westin- Roary’s Lions
7. Vascon- The Holey ones
8. Kalyani- Amazing Albatrosses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *